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101 East Capitol, Suite 450 • Little Rock, AR 72201   

phone (501) 682-1520 • fax (501) 682-5538 • www.asbpa.arkansas.gov 

Arkansas State Board of Public Accountancy 

Instructions for 2019 CPE Audit 

• Assemble documentation for all CPE courses used for your 2019 Annual License Renewal. If you 
chose the 40-hour rule this will include ALL courses from 2018 and ALL ethics from 2017 & 2016. 
If you chose the 120-hour rule this will include ALL courses from 2018, 2017, & 2016. 

• Review your CPE certificates to verify that the documentation meets all requirements detailed on the 
CPE Documentation Requirements page. 

• If you are missing documentation or your documentation is insufficient, contact the CPE Sponsor to 
request the required information.   

• Copies of your CPE documentation are acceptable ONLY if all of the information is legible.  

• For CPE obtained through the Arkansas Society of Certified Public Accountants (ASCPA), Please 
contact the Society for a transcript of your courses. You are not allowed to print off the tracker 
yourself, it must be an official transcript from the Society. 

• For the Rules and Laws Ethics course obtained through the Arkansas State Board, you must go onto 
the WebCE website where you took the course and print off your certificate. The Board does not 
automatically receive this certificate or verification once you have finished this course. You are 
responsible for sending this documentation to the Board. 

• Remember, we will NOT contact you for missing or insufficient information. Be sure ALL 
documentation is included and is complete. 

Scan and e-mail you documentation to 

Tiffany.Vano@arkansas.gov 

 

OR 

Mail to   

ASBPA Attn: CPE Audit 

101 E. Capitol Ave., Suite 450 

Little Rock, AR  72201 

New CPE Audit Policy 

Effective with the 2017 CPE Audit, those CPAs who fail a CPE audit will be required to 

make up the hours disallowed in the audit in addition to paying a fine. For several years 

the audits have resulted in fines only, but the Board believes that the profession and the public 

are better served by having CPAs who fail to meet the CPE standards make up the hours that 

were either not taken or disallowed. 
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Summary of CPE Documentation Requirements 

CPE support documentation should be a form or certificate issued by the sponsor and should contain the 
following information: 

• Your name as a participant (see NOTE 1 below) 

• Name of sponsoring organization and contact information  

• NASBA registration number or “Exempt” if organization is exempt 

• Course title 

• Dates attended and/or completed 

• Number of hours obtained (based on 50-minute hour) 

• Field of study for which hours were granted 

• Type of instruction/delivery method (group or self-study) 

• Signature of sponsor representative (written or electronic is 
acceptable) 

 

Documentation lacking any of the items detailed above may result in the CPE being unacceptable.  Please 
make sure that each document you are submitting has all of the information we require.   

We will NOT contact you for the missing information.  

NOTE 1:  Except for sponsor signatures, handwritten information is NOT acceptable.  If any of the 
information is written, please contact the sponsor and have them verify the information on letterhead or 
in an email and sent to Mrs. Tiffany Vano at Tiffany.Vano@arkansas.gov.  

NOTE 2: Many “Exempt” sponsors do not include the field of study on their certificates.  Please send 
additional information (agenda or outline) to corroborate the classification of the CPE hours, if this is the 
case. 

Summary of In-Firm CPE Documentation Requirements 

If you work for a firm that IS registered with NASBA, all in-firm CPE can be verified by sending a 
transcript of your CPE. This transcript must be given to you and signed by your firm’s CPE Administrator 
or your firm’s director. This transcript must have all required CPE certificate information. If you do not 
have a transcript, you may also send acceptable CPE certificates instead of normal in-firm documentation. 
Please note, all CPE not taken through your firm must be verified via a CPE certificate not the CPE 
transcript. 

 

If you work for a firm NOT registered with NASBA and you are reporting in-firm CPE, please send a 
sign-in sheet or certificate of completion; an agenda and/or outline; and a biography of the instructor(s). 
Please note the sign-in sheet should have the following printed on it: name of the instructor(s), title of the 
course, the number of CPE hours, the field of study, and the date the course was taken.  

 

NOTE 3:  Except for signatures, handwritten information is NOT acceptable.  If any of the information 
is written, please contact your firm’s CPE Coordinator and have them verify the information on 
letterhead or in an email and sent to Tiffany.Vano@arkansas.gov.  
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Examples of Unacceptable Documentation 

• “Circle the Minutes” forms are NOT acceptable. These are forms where you circle the minutes, total up 
the minutes and divide by 50 to get the CPE hours. These are considered “self-reporting” documents and 
are NOT acceptable third-party documentation. You must contact the provider and request a certificate 
or a letter confirming the completion of the CPE. This includes “Circle the Minutes” forms provided by 
the AICPA. 

• CPE obtained from providers that are not NASBA registered or are not an exempt organization per Rule 
13.4(f), is NOT acceptable. A provider’s prior NASBA registration does not ensure current NASBA 
certification. Please check closely for a NASBA number on your documents. 

• In-firm documentation that does not have all the items required is NOT acceptable. 

• Unofficial transcripts – if you are claiming CPE from colleges or universities, a print-out of a transcript is 
NOT acceptable. We must have an official transcript sent to the Board from the university.   

• Plane ticket stubs, receipts for payment of CPE, rosters of attendees, confirmation letters or emails of 
registrations, etc., are NOT acceptable. 

• Any documentation that has handwritten notes that fill in missing information is NOT acceptable. For 
example, if the provider did not include the number of hours and you write that number in, it will not be 
acceptable. You must contact the provider for any missing information. 

• Certificates that do not have a name are NOT acceptable. You may have received a blank certificate from 
the sponsor. This document is NOT acceptable for audit purposes. Please contact the sponsor and have 
them verify your attendance on letterhead or in an email sent to Tiffany.Vano@arkansas.gov  
 

• Screenshots of completed CPE courses are NOT acceptable. You must send verified CPE certificates 
from the sponsors. 

The remainder of this page is intentionally left blank. 
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1. GROUP STUDY: Minimum of 16 hours based on the 40-hour rule or 48 hours based on the 120-hour 

rule is required.  

2. CONTENT: Minimum of 20 hours based on the 40-hour rule or 60 hours based on the 120-hour rule 

shall be completed in the following: Accounting/Attest, Ethics, or Taxation.  

3. ENGAGED IN ATTEST/COMPILATIONS: If the licensee is engaged in attest or compilation functions, 

a minimum of 8 hours based on the 40-hour rule or 24 hours based on the 120-hour rule must be 

completed in Accounting/Attest. 

4. ETHICS: All license holders must have at least 4 hours of Ethics in any 36 month reporting cycle.  

Beginning January 1, 2015, one of those hours must be Arkansas Board Laws and Rules course.  

5.  NEW LICENSEES: Licensees who receive their initial licensure during the current calendar year must 

obtain CPE hours prorated based upon the date of initial licensure.  They are exempt from the ethics 

requirement until their first full year of licensure.  

6. 120 HOUR RULE REPORTING CYCLE: January 1, 2016 through December 31, 2018. 

7. SPONSORS: CPE sponsors must be registered with NASBA. The certificate of completion must include 

the sponsor’s registration number. Professional accounting and legal organizations, accredited universities 

and colleges, firms, and government entities are exempt from the NASBA registry requirement.  

 

Legal Requirement 

This CPE Summary is for supplemental purposes only and not the official source. Board Rule 13 and AR 
Code Annotated § 17-12-502 CPE Requirement should be reviewed for your official source. The 
Accountancy Law and Board Rules can be accessed at www.asbpa.arkansas.gov.  

Summary of Rule 13-CPE Requirements 
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